top of page
kkalaw41

Devlog # 4

Hello,


I have managed to develop my puzzle game after all!


Developing the space shooter game first before getting back into puzzle really helped. I actually understood more about Godot 4 than watching and applying those step-by-step beginner tutorials on YouTube. Not to undermine their efforts though, in a way watching those tutorials helped me navigate the engine to an extent, but not in a way that can help me develop a game I imagined in my head.


I have run into a few problems into developing my puzzle game. The main problem is having the game signal to the player that they solved the puzzle. How this happened was how rotation works in the engine (and possibly all other engines). Obviously, in degrees, a full rotation is from 0 to 360 degrees. In Godot on the other hand, rotation is in radians. It does have a function in which you can convert to degrees, however, Godot cannot recognize the "set" rotation I coded in order to signal the game that the puzzle piece is in the correct rotation.

Another thing I didn't account for is the number of cycles the piece can rotate. Which is unlimited since I didn't restrict the number of cycles to just 1. I have received help from Godot Discord server, but I have yet to apply it to my puzzle game.


Overall, you can navigate through the puzzle pieces using the WASD keys. I have also uploaded a video showing a demonstration of the game as well as how the puzzle is solved.


I have uploaded more details about the game in My Projects Page as well as downloadable links for all three of my Godot games from my Google Drive. Important thing to note is that that the executable files only run on Windows. I was encouraged to port my games to other platforms such as HTML.


Speaking of, I have recently made an itch,io account to embed my games but unfortunately it didn't work. There are certain steps I have to follow in order to upload my games from Godot to itch.io.


Anyways, thanks for reading!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Major Project Reflection

Hello, I have not mentioned this in my previous posts, but the decision to make three small games in Godot was because of a university...

Comments


bottom of page