top of page
kkalaw41

Dev Log #1 04_21_2023

So I made a quick prototype on my music rhythm game by following a tutorial by Clickteam Fusion Developer. I made the square buttons in Adobe Illustrator and imported them into Godot. When pressing the corresponding Left, Up, and Right arrow buttons on the keyboard once the moving squares overlap with the idle ones, the script I made returns a message in the console saying "Good". If not overlapping but the player presses the buttons then script returns a message saying "Bad".




I also followed another tutorial on making rhythm games from LegionGames. This tutorial I followed mostly to understand the theory behind translating musical concepts into programming. The tutorial itself wasn't that helpful as the YouTuber developed the game using an older version of Godot. The tutorial made by Clickteam was made recently using the latest version of Godot. I will link their videos on this blog post.


I plan to implement most of what I learned from LegionGames when I develop more of the rhythm game such as making several separate collision shapes to differentiate between "Bad" "Good" "Great" and "Perfect" as you would typically find in most Rhythm games. Another important note is calculating the measures and beats of the song chosen, LegionGames linked helpful articles on his video from other game developers that have worked on rhythm games. Also look forward to improvements of the design assets of the game and adding a free copyright song online.


Clickteam Fusion Developer Video Tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwvcmbY8wiY


LegionGames Video Tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FRiPPbJsFQ


Here is a link of the music I'll use for my rhythm game: Energetic Powerful EDM Event Drop - Free Music Archive


Thanks for reading,


- K41

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Major Project Reflection

Hello, I have not mentioned this in my previous posts, but the decision to make three small games in Godot was because of a university...

Comments


bottom of page